After some advicce from newbie Runner Duck keeper

Jonah10

Hatching
5 Years
Nov 15, 2014
Isle of Wight, UK
Dear All, My ten year old son and I are entirely new to duck keeping although I grew up on a farm with chickens in the yard so I've some background in looking after feathered friends...just not ducks! We live on the Isle of Wight just off south coast of England and now have three female Indian Runners. No drake. We got them about 4 wekends ago and they have settlwd in, albeit very slowly and are still quite nervous of us. They have the run of our garden but arent moving much off the lawn.

So a couple of questions for you all. First up theres no sign of any eggs yet - we werent really expecting any yey as we are moving towards winter here although still very mild. We're feeding them.mixed corn, layers pellets and grit mixed and they are now eating it avidly after a slow start. Is the lack of eggs normal?

Second is about water. We sunk a huge old victorian china sink in the ground and filled it with water but they've shown no interest in this at all. Drinking OK.from.their water bowser but should they / will they show any more interest in their "pond"?

Finally, does anyone have any tips on favourite runner duck treats? As I said they are eating OK but since we didnt raise them by hand we'd like to find a way of getting them to come to us when we appear with a handful of something irresistible. Any suggestions?! Best wishes Simon and Jonah(10)

Amiga- where do you get sprouted wheat berries? Health food store? I be mine would love those and so would the small critter too!
I buy bags of wheat - just, whole wheat seeds - in bulk, and I sprout them here. I put a couple of inches of seeds in the bottom of a pint jar, rinse with hot water, fill the jar with tepid water. let sit overnight.

Next day, empty the jar (helps to have a screen lid - just replace a canning lid with a round piece of window screen).