Aggressive behavior in Preschool Hens

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by preschoolhens, Jan 15, 2011.

1. preschoolhens

preschoolhens New Egg

Jan 15, 2011
    Our co-op preschool has two young hens that have been laying for 3 months now. We've been having problems with them pecking at feet & legs (parents & children) & they have also pecked at children's faces. My school job is taking care of the animals, so I've been mediating parent-kid-chicken trouble for the past 2 months. Before this summer I hadn't had any experience raising chickens.
    One is a Rhode Island Red & the other an Ameraucana, they are big healthy birds with a 5 x 8 barn space, 3 laying boxes all to themselves & the straw is changed daily. They have fresh water & laying crumble food inside the barn & can freely pass from barn to playground. The school has had chickens for several years, but never any this young, & chicken aggression hasn't ever been a problem before. Their wings are clipped. They are free to roam the play yard from 9-3 M-F & depending on the weekend work parent may get a hour or two outside over the weekends. We haven't noticed more pecking after being cooped up all weekend, so I'm not sure if their outside time is a factor or not. We're located in Northern California & a local told me all the little earthquakes we've been having might get the birds riled up.
    Just to be contradictory, the chickens have been hand raised & can be very approachable, they stop & seem to be asking me to pet their backs (I raised them for school this past summer). The chickens are very easy for most parents to pick up. The teachers say these are the sweetest hens school has ever had, but on the flip side they are the most aggressive & have attacked kids' faces. Obviously we need birds that can safely share a yard with 24 kids, so I'm looking for any advice on how to curb their aggressive behavior & pecking.