All New To Me

Ballroomchick

In the Brooder
May 4, 2015
Hi,

I am completely new to this whole raising chickens thing. We live out in the country in eastern Idaho and it just seemed like the best outdoor pet to have with little babies in the house.
I find myself checking on our 6 chicks multiple times a day just because this is such a foreign idea to me still lol.
My 2 year old love the "ickees" but it still pretty wild around them. We have a red and black sex link (Named Galinda and Elpheba), 2 rhode island reds (Holly shiftwell, and Sally), and 2 buff orpingtons (still nameless).
I'm just excited to see how this goes...
haven't built the coop yet and I never asked at the store how old our little chickees were (though the gal helping us probably woulnd't have known based on her attitude when we bought the stuff).
Any advice would be welcome.

Do you have photos of the chicks when you first bought them? This can help us pinpoint their estimated age at the time you got them so you can then figure their age now. *Most* of the time the chicks you get at the store are in their first week of life because they are 2-3 days when they get to the store (shipped as day-olds plus transit time) and most places tend to sell them out pretty quickly each week, especially the breeds that are popular in a given year. Because they have shipments coming in weekly, staff is motivated to get the older chicks sold out quickly if they reach the end of a week or two and still have them so as not to have tiny babies from the new batch having to mingle with older/larger chicks, so it's rare to see chicks over two weeks old in the stores during the busiest part of chick season.