1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Am I a rooster or a hen? And what breed?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by mamapatt75, Sep 17, 2013.

1. mamapatt75

mamapatt75 New Egg

Aug 26, 2013
    We bought this one from a friend and was told it was an already laying Black Astrolorp hen....but I'm really starting to second guess because we have had it for almost a month and no eggs...and this morning it was crowing like a rooster. I am new to having chickens so I'm very confused.
    [​IMG]

2. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    From the tail he looks like a rooster, could be a Black Australorp, but need better pictures, and what color are the bottoms of his feet.

Last edited: Sep 17, 2013
  3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    I'd say that you have a rooster, judging by the tail feathers and large comb. Are the bottoms of its feet white or yellow? If white, you have an Australorp or a Black Orpington, if yellow, he's a Jersey Giant or a Java.

4. mamapatt75

mamapatt75 New Egg

Aug 26, 2013
    Here are a couple more pics I just went out and took using the regular camera instead of my phone. I was trying to see the bottom of the feet...they look white to me, but it ran through the garden and got dirt all over them haha
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. speedyfuzzball

speedyfuzzball Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2013
    Long Island, NY
    Looks like a rooster :/

6. Bens-Hens

Bens-Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Pretty clear hackle and saddle feathers there I think.

Great green sheen to him too.

I would guess a Black Australorp cockerel.

7. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013