am i going to incubate correctly????

HeatherJoe

Songster
7 Years
Oct 24, 2014
Hello. Ok so we are on day 11 of our incubation of our barn yard mix eggs(white eggs, brown eggs, blue eggs & like a light pink eggs)... there are alot that have littlebabies moving inside them ( SO SO EXCITED ) ( THERE ABOUT 14!!!!! ) So anyways we have the humidity at about 40-45 and the heat at 100... that is going really well
smile.png
... my BIG CONCERN is.... When do i unplug the automatic rotater??? is it on day 18 or is it day 19???

Hello,

I am also new to incubating but from what I read it is day 18 and make sure you take the turner out and put the eggs back in the incubator without it. Also make sure you increase your humidity levels for hatching time. Otherwise the chicks can get stuck in the goo and it dries up in their airways which causes them to suffocate. I am on day 5 and see growth... Very exciting isn't it?? :)

ok. thank you !!!! i just wasnt 100% sure if i should let them continue to be roated on the 18th day.

You can stop turning the eggs anytime between day 14 and day 18. I have even had chicks hatch on the turner, but don't recommend that at all.

phishless13 is right about raising the humidity. IMO, that is the most important factor if preventing deaths in chicks that start to hatch. If your temps are easily adjustable, you also might consider dropping the temp a degree on day 18. Chicks are making their own body heat by that time and exerting themselves. My hatcher is always 80% or more RH and I aim for 98.5 degrees, but either 98 or 99 are ok with me.