Ameraucana Chick questions *PICS*

mediazeal

Songster
10 Years
Feb 26, 2009
I have three 7 week old Ameraucana chicks and three 1 day olds. A few more eggs still in the hatcher.
I'm new to Ameraucanas and the colors and standards are something I am trying to learn about.
Of the 7 week olds, I have 1 black that I think is a pullet Am
and I believe one is a cockerel but do not know what you would call his color
and I have one that is odd coloring, would you just call her an EE? Her legs are starting to pigment now and her feathers are getting more grey in them as she grows.
Here they are:
3ams-gf.jpg

And the one I think is a roo, is he black or splash since he has a little grey in the face??
am-gf-roo.jpg

Next, I have 3 new babies. I think I hav 2 black and 1 grey, is that right?
3amigos-ams.jpg

3amigos2-ams.jpg

This is the second time I have seen a bird colored like that. Who the heck is breeding these?

I wouldn't use any of the first three for breeding as they obviously are carrying some type of weird gene. The one may look black, but who knows what is lying in those chromosomes waiting to pop out. The other two are definately crossed with something.

The tiny babies look like maybe two blacks and a splash or a black, blue and splash.

You need to let the breeder of the first batch of birds know that they are doing something really wrong there.

And yes, looks like two cockerels and a pullet. Legs are supposed to be slate or black on black birds. The legs are a dead giveaway that they are crossed with something.

pips&peeps :

This is the second time I have seen a bird colored like that. Who the heck is breeding these?

I wouldn't use any of the first three for breeding as they obviously are carrying some type of weird gene. The one may look black, but who knows what is lying in those chromosomes waiting to pop out. The other two are definately crossed with something.

The tiny babies look like maybe two blacks and a splash or a black, blue and splash.