1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

An introduction

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by townchicks, Dec 2, 2016.

1. townchicks

townchicks New Egg

Dec 1, 2016
    Hi, I wanted to introduce myself. I am new to chickens,although I have been thinking about getting some for many years. In September I bought two 8 week old easter egger pullets, and I am in love. I named them Agatha Christie (Aggie) and Harper Lee. I live in the suburbs in the San Francisco bay area, and the chickens are strictly pets, but of course the eggs will be greatly appreciated, when they come! I am eagerly awaiting them, anxious to see what colors they will be. I am hoping for blue or green, but I'll be happy with whatever comes.Neither my husband nor I are very handy in the building department, so I ordered a kit coop with a small attached run area. I did manage to build a functional, though not very pretty extension for their run, from PVC and hardware cloth. I also move them around the yard in a dog x-pen with a cover on it, for some variety. The plan is to let them range in my fenced yard when I am home, but I don't trust my dogs with them yet. I've been lurking on this site for a while, and I've gotten so much good info from all of you. I figured it was time to join the family! Hopefully, I'll get some pictures posted, I'm not so great with computers either.

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC. This site becomes easier with use - it's really pretty straight forward and 'houses' a great poultry community.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Congrats on your new hens! Cute names too. :)