Another thread about sexing Wyandottes

K0k0shka

Free Ranging
Premium Feather Member
Jul 24, 2019
Boston Area, MA
My Coop
My Coop
There have been others, I know... And I did go over them. Some had pictures at different ages and an update past the point of doubt, which was very helpful for me. So I'm starting one of those threads, too. First, to ask you for your opinions, and then to update it with pictures, and the final verdict of who ended up what. Then hopefully others down the line will find it and learn from my experience.

So here are my chicks, 5 weeks old now - two gold laced and two splash laced red, from the feed store (so hatchery quality) supposedly sexed. I'm pretty good at sexing single combs, but these are my first rose combs so I'm still learning.

Chick #1
This one is my favorite. Extremely human-friendly from the very beginning, a lot more so than any of the others. Very brave, curious and inquisitive. Which has kept me on my toes, because those are usually male qualities... But judging by other people's pictures of cockerels at this age, it doesn't look like one to me at this point...

1685066841433.png

1685066856417.png

1685066869303.png

Chick #2
The second friendliest of the bunch, though not as much as #1. Has less color in the comb/wattles than #1, though after looking at people's now-confirmed cockerels, my impression of color may have been more imagined than real :lol:

1685067018966.png

1685067029474.png

Chick #3
This one took some work to socialize. In general, the two GLW's have been a lot less human-friendly than the two SLR's, even though they came from the same hatchery.
1685067830768.png

1685067845283.png

1685067856693.png

Chick #4