Anyone set any eggs today? I need a buddy!! Aug. 27th-30th!!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by PrestonSloan08, Aug 27, 2011.

1. PrestonSloan08

PrestonSloan08 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 8, 2011
    Corner Alabama
    I put 5 huge eggs under my broody silkie today!!! She is actualy very nice while broody!! But I need to hatch buddies!!! Is anyone due around the same time? This is my first time hatching with a broody hen!! Let's hope it goes Better than it has with the incubator!!

Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  2. Chicken Chat

Chicken Chat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    You're a little early for me, my eggs aren't due to arrive until Monday If all the eggs make it thru shipping and I have any extra that won't fit in my bator, I'm planning on using a broody. I have 4 silkies and 2 cochins broody at the moment so the girls are my backup.

Are you hatching silkies or just using the silke as your broody mom?

Last edited: Aug 27, 2011
  3. MuckyPuppy

MuckyPuppy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2011
    UK
    I put 6 silkie eggs in today but I am a horrible ..... horrendous ..... dreadful ..... appalling ..... hideous ..... disastrous ..... I also may not be a very good ..... hatching buddy. I have tried many times and hatching with me is like someone hatching on their own ..... just worse! [​IMG]

I vote for Chicken Chat.

4. PrestonSloan08

Jul 8, 2011
    Corner Alabama
    I'm just using her as a mom!! I have been buying eggs from this man down road from me, and his eggs are HUGE, so I decided I wanted to hatch some!!

5. Edwards' East of Eden

Edwards' East of Eden Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2011
    Biloxi, MS
    I'm setting 23 silkie eggs in my gator tomorrow -

6. PrestonSloan08

Jul 8, 2011
    Corner Alabama
    Quote:Im not to sure how good a gator would take care of eggs..... Haha I'm just kidding I know what you ment!

7. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe True BYC Addict

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO