Appenzeller Spitzhauben refusing the coop at night

spindrifter

In the Brooder
Aug 2, 2020
Scotland, UK
Hi! I’m a fairly novice chicken keeper looking for some advice please :)
A little background first:
I hatched my first eggs (incubator) about a year ago and eventually ended up with 3 Barnevelders & 2 Pekin Bantams hens plus a Pekin Bantam Cockerel (very sweet but really no interest at all in the ladies - he’s more interest in my fluffy slippers !!)

I free range them in my large garden and they all sleep in the large coop at night.
So about 12 weeks ago I hatched 3 Appenzeller Spitzhauben (they are ridiculously adorable!) and they finally joined the main flock about 3 weeks ago, harmonious all free ranging. No issues, bossiness or scuffles at all.
But the chicks refuse to sleep with the rest in the coop at night - instead roosting in the rafters of my woodshed (which is open on the front). For 2 weeks I’ve taken them back into the coop every night, but they don’t seem to get the idea.

They’re perfectly capable of going into the coop - and wander in a few times / day - but at night they go to the rafters.

Do I continue putting the into the coop at night for the rest of their lives, or leave them in the wood shed ??
Ps: the coop isn’t fenced - it’s a raised coop in my garden.

Attachments

• E2CB09AB-B397-4336-B15B-82896CC6C0AE.jpeg
    E2CB09AB-B397-4336-B15B-82896CC6C0AE.jpeg
    426.1 KB · Views: 58
The shed is unfortunately definitely not predator proof as the one side is completely open. The coop is plenty big enough - it’s supposed to accommodate up to 25 LF.
I haven’t noticed any bullying.
After reading a few other threads I’ve just ordered a solar light for the coop - don’t know if that may help ?

The coop is plenty big enough - it’s supposed to accommodate up to 25 LF.
How big is that in feet by feet?
Pics would really help here.

After reading a few other threads I’ve just ordered a solar light for the coop - don’t know if that may help ?