Arent chickens supposed to lay in the am?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by aliciaford, Aug 6, 2008.

1. aliciaford

aliciaford Out Of The Brooder

Mar 31, 2008
    I have 32 laying hens, all between 19-21 weeks. I got my first egg last saturday, about 4pm. [​IMG] I have gotten several eggs this week, never anything in the morning, always after 2pm or so. I even got one the other night about 7pm. I always thought that chickens layed at like 6 am or something. Ok, no laughing, I'm a newbie...[​IMG]

2. Wildsky

Wildsky Wild Egg!

Oct 13, 2007
    California
    Mine lay all day - all the way till bed time.

If you have a specific hen that you can tell her eggs from the others, you'll notice a slow movement through the days.
    Example, monday she'll lay early morning, Tuesday an hour or so later and so on until its a late night lay - then she misses the next day and starts back to early morning laying!

3. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln
    Nope, my girls lay anytime of the day!

4. keljonma

keljonma Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2007
    8A East Texas
    Our ladies lay between 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. They all have their own schedules.

If your ladies are just starting to lay, it will take them a while to get into a routine.

5. Matt A NC

Matt A NC Overrun With Chickens

Feb 22, 2007
    Morganton, NC
    Most of the year my birds lay whenever they want. I had an old gal that passed this summer that laid at daybreak. As soon as it was light enough to move from the perch to a her nest, she was move. Once finished she would go back to the perch to finish sleeping. I only caught 'Old Hefty' on the nest a couple times. Most mornings I would just find a fresh, really warm, jumbo size egg when I opened the houses in the mornings. As she got older the eggs only came every 2-3 days.