Article in Backyard Poultry

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by mrsgibber, Apr 1, 2009.

1. mrsgibber

mrsgibber Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 3, 2008
    Bolton, CT
    I read an article where someone with chickens uses a radio to keep the predators away. They keep in on 24/7 and tune it to different stations now and again.

Has anyone here tried this? I wonder how much the noise would bother the chickens when they are trying to sleep at night.

2. rancher hicks

rancher hicks Chicken Obsessed

Feb 28, 2009
    Syracuse, NY
    I haven't tried this but have thought of it as I'm new to chickens. I'm also as gross as this sounds thinking of using urine. I remember in the movie CRY WOLF a documentary type film where the guy drank a whole pot of tea and them ran around the perimeter of his camp peeing on everything to signal to the wolves to stay away.

3. DTchickens

DTchickens Overrun With Chickens

Mar 23, 2008
    Bailey, Mississippi.
    a lot of people play music to calm chickens... Heavy metal may not work. But i know we used to use Country, and old rock stations

4. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Quote:Not as gross or bizarre as it may seem. I take my irish wolfhound around the areas my chickens free range and my SO ut hum "contributes" when the mood strikes him. [​IMG]

5. fowltemptress

fowltemptress Frugal Fan Club President

Jan 20, 2008
    My aunt uses a radio just as company for her horses. Coyotes still come right up to her stables and barn, so I would question the effectiveness of it. Still, there's no harm in trying, unless you're like me and can't stand constant noise coming out of radios and televisions. [​IMG]