Babies keep dying--- 3 today! UGH-- send me in the right direction!

arwmommy

Songster
12 Years
Apr 13, 2007
California
Ok BYC experts, I just need a little help figuring out what is going on here. This is my 3rd set of babies in the last 2 years and I have had only 2 deaths out of like 35 chicks (one squished by accident, and one died within 24 hours of arriving) so I have no experience with this!

Background: Three weeks ago today, we got 12 babies from Ideal, all arrived healthy and chirping and happy. We put them under a broody hen, who accepted them immediatly, keeping them warm and showing them how to be a chicken! They have been eating Organic Starter (not medicated-- nor were they vaccinated, we only have a small flock of 8 bantam hens) and have been drinking, running around fine, free ranging and acting like normal baby chicks should, digging at dirt, eating small worms, flies, etc.

Last week (they were 2 weeks old) we had one baby dead in the morning. It looked like he got out of the nest box area at night and couldn't find his way back in. Very sad, but understandable.
Death #2 was a few days later, the chick was acting very funky--- hard time walking, all wobbly and breathing heavy, holding out wings, not keeping up. The butt was a *little* pasty (not blocked), so I cleaned it off, but he was gone the next morning.
Death #3 was totally a surprise, baby was just dead in the nest box.
Death #4 was the same as #2-- wobbly on feet, can't really walk, keep up, breathing hard all yesterday, bit of pasty but, and was dead this morning.