Bad Experience Brooding with Ceramic Heat Lamp

my sunwolf

Songster
7 Years
Apr 22, 2012
Southwest Virginia
My Coop
My Coop
I'm a small-scale producer, so I really shouldn't have experimented... but I wanted a safer way to brood chicks than the 250W red heat lamps (I am terrified of a barn fire--it borders on neurosis!).

First I bought two Brinsea EcoGlow 50s, plugged one in to test out on a batch of 40 Silkies, and noticed that the birds were COLD. I read through the directions again and again, and finally in fine print was "Do not use when temperatures are below 50˚F." Well, that was dumb. Of course, that info was NOT on the website; only when I received my EcoGlows did the instructions let me know this small bit of very important information. We brood hundreds of chicks in our BARN each year, starting in February/March time frame. It was definitely going to get below 50˚F! I tried supplementing the heat with a lamp, but it still wasn't hot enough. I ended up having to ditch the EcoGlows, and went with my old 250W enemy.

Next, I purchased two 200W ceramic bulbs and 100W ceramic bulb on ebay for maybe $15 or $20 each. These are specifically for keeping reptiles warm, but I have read a few things that say they work great for chicks. When they arrived, I installed the two 200W and one 100W hanging VERY low (within 12") over a batch of 110 Cornish X + 25 Silkies. They were FREEZING, and huddling like crazy. Temps were freezing outside. I had some immediate pile-up issues, and I felt sick.

I switched the 100W ceramic bulb out for a 250W red bulb, since I clearly was having bad luck. They all piled under the 250W bulb, and more loses. I had made the mistake of assuming that you can't get a thermometer reading for a ceramic bulb: turns out that you can.

I have since researched that the problem with ceramic bulbs: they only emit heat in one concentrated spot right under the bulb, but no ambient heat. Good for reptiles, not so good for big batches of chicks.