BeeKeepers?

We tried it a few years ago. My two grown children and myself went to a bee keeping seminar at the U of M. First off it is really technical! There are a lot of diseases etc to be dealt with. It takes a lot of study, huge learning curve. Then there is a lot of equipement, LOTS. Then there is location. Most if not all larger cities do not allow bee hives. Then there is hive wasting disease that kills off a colony over 2 or 3 years with no known cure hence the catastrophic decline of the world's bee population. Then when I stopped to think about it I wasn't sure I wanted to eat honey that has been treated with so many chemicals and antibiotics etc.

If this sounds like fun to you then your a better person than me!

I did it growing up until I graduated from College. My Dad then took it over for awhile. We froze out a couple winters ago. My daughter had a special research project this year for one of her advanced classes (shes 9). She chose beekeeping. I am excited to get her back into it.

We have had several hives for a number of years. I suit up in my net suit to tend or rob and use a smoker to calm them. You can improvise with some of the tools...as long as you know what it's used for.

We have lost a few hives to swarm, failure to thrive and loss of queen. We harvest honey before we treat with strips for vareo mites in the winter and don't harvest honey in the spring. We remove the strips at then end of February. Ususally we will set out supplemental syrup in the winter for the bees.

Check with your county extension office...most times you will find a local beekeepers group that is willing to share knowledge.