Beginner Questions - Coturnix Quail

QuailTail

Songster
Aug 21, 2021
NSW Mid North Coast, Australia
Hi everyone!

I'm new to both BYC and raising quail - I don't have my quail yet as a regional covid lockdown means I can't travel to collect them, but I'm hoping to be able to move around again in a week or so.

I have done lots of research but have a few questions that google hasn't been able to answer for me and I was hoping I might find some help from this amazing community.

For context, I plan to have 8 hens only, no roo, on a deep litter floor. The coop I'm building for them will be 2400x1200cm and I'm attaching the top view shape as it's not a rectangle.

My questions are:
1. Is this enough space for 8-12 quail to be happy? I'm interested in a high quality of life and will be doing my best to replicate a natural environment for them with hidey holes and nesting material. I'm starting off with 8 but don't want to limit myself if I'd like to increase the flock later.
2. What's the best straw/hay to give them for nesting? A neighbour sells large hay bales of setaria grass which would be a great economical option, but I can't find anything on wether or not it's safe for quail - it apparently is high in oxalate, but I can't find any info on that that means for poultry.
3. I live in a temperate/sub tropical climate where it reaches 35 C (95 F) in summer and lows of probably min 6 C overnight in winter (43 F). Their coop will have half full wire mesh walls, and the other half will be made from roofing panels to allow for shelter and airflow. Would they need a more sheltered area in winter or will they be okay with hidey holes and hay?
4. Do they need to be wormed regularly?
If so, how is it best to do this?