Beginner thinking about hatching chickens

bigz1983

Crowing
7 Years
Aug 9, 2016
Michigan
Hey everyone I just got some chickens last summer and I'm thinking about trying to hatch some eggs this spring. So yeah I'm a newbie to this stuff.

I have one rooster and 3 hens. The rooster is a Golden campine and I have 2 rhode island red hens and one Isa brown hen.

My first issue is I'm not sure if my rooster mates with the hens... I don't ever see him mate with the hens. Is it possible he mates with them when I'm not looking or watching?? He is a little smaller than the girls will he not mate with hens bigger than him? Do chickens only mate in the spring?

The other issue is my rooster is a Golden campine and my hens are rhode island reds and a isa brown. Is it ok to mix breed them?

Plus I don't think my hens will ever go broody. I don't think rhode island reds or isa browns go broody do they? Will I have to incubate the eggs?

Mating is quick so you may miss it. If you watch from a distance you might see it. A fertilized egg has a ring around the germinal disk. A search of this site should get you a picture.

You can mix whatever breeds you like. Your breeds may or may not go broody. They are less known for it. It does mostly depend on the breeding behind them and whether they are out of broody stock. Occasionally there's an oddball hen that doesn't follow the general rules though.

If no hen goes broody you will need an incubator, which can be tricky to run or easy depending on the model and price.

Remember that about half the offspring will be roosters and you will need a plan on how you will deal with the extra boys.

I'd say go for it! But just remember, hatching is addictive! I started with one rooster and 2 hens and now have over 50 birds and have around 300 babies a year.