Best chicken book out there?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ONSTAD1, May 27, 2012.

1. ONSTAD1

ONSTAD1 Chirping

Hi.
    In the research phase of getting byc's. Taking an informal poll...if you could have just one book on raising backyard chickens what would it be?

Thanks,
    Mo

2. The Yolk Folks

The Yolk Folks Hatching

Feb 14, 2012
    I've really liked and valued "Storey's Guide to Raising Chickens" by Gail Damerow. Comprehensive and readable.

3. galanie

galanie Treat Dispenser No More

Aug 20, 2010
    Colmesneil,TX
    Same here, Storey's guide.

4. cleoppa

cleoppa In the Brooder

Sep 28, 2010
    I'm not an expert here, but I'll post anyway. I really liked this book: Chick Days: An Absolute Beginner's Guide to Raising Chickens from Hatching to Laying

It is, as it says, an absolute beginner's guide. In fact, I think I'll donate mine to the library, since after your first set of chickens, it's nowhere near as valuable. But for a first-time chicken raiser, i loved this book. Of course, the more in-depth books come in handy, too. But for anyone on their first chicks, this is a great book.

1 person likes this.
  5. ChickiesInUtah

ChickiesInUtah Chirping

May 14, 2012
    Northern Utah
    Agree about Storey. I don't have their chicken specific book but I have this:

Country Wisdom & Know-How: A Practical Guide to Living off the Land

http://www.amazon.com/Country-Wisdo...3ZW2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338246666&sr=8-1

I've learned so much from it. How to bake bread, how to build a nest box, gardening, etc. When we bought our house in a more rural town a friend gave it to me as a joke. Ha! The cover is practically falling off.

1 person likes this.
  6. ONSTAD1

ONSTAD1 Chirping

thanks...sure I'll get a couple so keep em coming

7. SuburbanMomof4

SuburbanMomof4 In the Brooder

I am totally in agreement with SMALL-SCALE POULTRY FLOCK by HARVEY USSERY