Best meat birds? Where to buy?

ottbjumper06

Songster
6 Years
Apr 26, 2013
Manly, Iowa
I'm looking into acquiring 25-30 broiler chicks in February or March and wanting to know what the fastest growing breed with the best tasting meat (in your opinion) is. I'm brand new to the meat bird scene so any and all information you choose to share would be greatly appreciated.

I also raise Ameraucanas and Iowa Blues so am considering whether to use the extra cockerels as my sole meat birds or if I should get broiler chicks as well.

Thank you!

It depends on how fast you want your chickens to be ready and if you want to ration them or are looking to forage them. If you want a bird that goes from chick to table in 8 or so weeks your best bet is the cornish rock cross broilers, they do best in my experiance by keeping them in a pen and feeding them broiler feed. Mine averaged 9 to 10 pounds. As far as the meat it tastes better than store bought (no added solutions to water it down) I have been getting them at our local TSC but I'm going to order 25 from whelp's hatchery soon, I was recomended them by another person on BYC and the pics they had of their chicks looked good. They also offer weeky shipments. I have also used some extra barred rock cocks and they were disapointing as far as amount of time and feed they need to get to a good size, at 6 months they were about 3 pounds dressed and were tough ( i don't capon them), I have heard that rangers are good foraging bird and some people forage their rock crosses but I assume it takes longer to feed them out to market size. Thats about all I can say I hope that helps! :)