Best way to store eggs for bator?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by NYRIR, Jan 29, 2011.

1. NYRIR

NYRIR Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2010
    Petersburg,NY
    Hi,[​IMG]
    I want to hatch some chicks this year from my own flock.How do I store the eggs for that?Room temp?(It flucuates here with wood heat so I will wait a bit longer)Or in the fridge?I know you should use clean eggs (but not washed)Also,I heard somewhere to "tilt" the eggs during storage?The only hatching I have done was last year from some eggs a friend gave me and I don't know how they were stored.I did get 9 out of 13 last year,so not too bad for a first time with an old bator...any suggestions would be appreciated.I'd like to increase my chances of a good hatch rate.

2. gumbii

gumbii Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2010
    bell gardens, ca
    well i tell ya what... i'm still a newb, and right now i'm incubating... jaksdfjaksldfj;laf i think 60 or so eggs right now... started with 80... but it took me a month to collect that many eggs... i placed them in my house on top of my fish tank... the temp is somewhat stable around 70° or so during days... and a lot of the old ones are actually doing great... and i read here that after two weeks they aren't that great to hatch...

anyways... i have been storing them point down and in a reptile condo... it stays around 60°F day or night... i wouldn't put them in the fridge though... might ruin the eggs...

3. tigerrrrrrrlilly

tigerrrrrrrlilly Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    I use a wine fridge (from target) set at 50 degrees. The eggs usually stay good up to 3 weeks for me. I tilt the carton and every other day, tilit the other way. You don't have to but it helps the chicks not get "stuck" to one side or pip on wrong side of the egg during incubation. Be sure to store the eggs small side down.