Black Sex-link cockerels/pullets

digitS'

Crowing
15 Years
Dec 12, 2007
ID/WA border
We got a few extra chicks along with our Australorps the other day
smile.png
. I'm fairly confident that they are Black Sex-links. I've heard good things about these birds
smile.png
so it isn't a terrible thing that they came along as guests. All the chicks are about 2 weeks old.

These are odd questions but I'm wondering about the sex of the sex-links . . . I have zero experience other than than having seen Black Sex-link hens - never roosters, never chicks.

The 3 birds in question seem to be losing the white spot on the top of their heads. So now I'm wondering if one in particular had the spot when he/she showed up about 4 days ago. The wing feathers of all have barring.

1. Do the males lose the white spot?
2. Do both sexes have the wing bars?
3. What difference is there after they feather out?
I'm confused . . .
idunno.gif

Steve

Those are males. Thats the dif. in the chicks with black sexlinks, males are black with a white dot on the head while females hatch all black with maybe a bit of red on the throat.

Hens feather out black and red and roosters feather out barred.

Looks like the hatchery added them as males for warmth.

Yeah, I can't quite think of them as "packing peanuts," Fancyfowl, but I was hoping at least one would be a hen.

Kind of funny, I had a Rhode Island rooster and then had Barred Rock hens. I don't think it ever occured to me back then that a RIR x BR offspring would have been a good choice as a laying hen - with added sexing benefits.

Steve's digits scratching noggin'

I have 6 black sex links, all hens. 3 are completely black and 3 have red going up their chests, throats and over their neck and heads. None of mine ever had a white spot on their head, so I am assuming yours are all males.Get some females and start your own little flock, you will have more eggs that you know what to do with.They are very good producers.