breeds of broody ducks ANYONE PLEASE!!!!

DUCKGIRL89

Songster
8 Years
Apr 28, 2011
TN
HI all,

I'm going to be getting some new ducks soon but i would like too know which of these three duck breeds are broody

Cayuga.

Khaki Campbell.

and Rouen.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Quote:
Cayuga is probably the broodiest on your list. You might look in Ancona or Welsh Harlequin. For the absolute broodiest duck around, go with Muscovy. Those girls spend 70% of their time in that nest box!

Last edited:
Quote:
Cayuga is probably the broodiest on your list. You might look in Ancona or Welsh Harlequin. For the absolute broodiest duck around, go with Muscovy. Those girls spend 70% of their time in that nest box!

Oops...I said the other 2 but I have to say that I have no experience with broodines yet.....

Well, those are the only ones that i have at the moment. Well to be exact I have

1 male Cayuga

1 male and 1 female Rouen

and 1 male Khaki.
so i amd getting 1 Cayuga female 5 Rouen girls and 5 khaki girls.

scratch that! I'm getting 1 Cayuga female 5 Rouen females and 4 females and 1 male of welsh harlequin. no khakis.

All of my khakis are broody right now. 2 of them were sharing a nest (40 + eggs). The eggs started to hatch, and I went out to find them killing the babies! SO I removed all of their eggs and now have them hatching in the incubator.
The other one still has 2 1/2 weeks left, but I am going to take her eggs too.
They make excellent broody hens when it comes to sitting, but they make HORRIBLE mothers.

I do have 2 muscovy hens on eggs too. I have heard great things about them, but their eggs haven't started hatching yet.

well, i heard that Welsh Harlequin are AWESOME! broodies and wonderful mothers this is what i read on metzer farms about WH