Brooder in coop

LaynaDon95

Songster
8 Years
Jan 18, 2012
Texas
We've just recently built our chicken coop. By built, I mean it's a building that we can lock them up in at night, with a roost. We are planning on dividing it into at least one separate room, but I'm thinking about sectioning off one more very small room as a brooder. The majority of the coop will go to the established flock and the other smaller room will be a grow out room for pullets that are too young to be kept with the big girls. The thing is, we will be hatching pretty regularly so we will have a fairly constant flow of chicks, so I really like the idea of another (very, very small) room as a brooder in the coop. I want to keep all the chickens in one place. My question is, has anyone had a problem doing this? Does anyone have advice or warnings or things I should consider? I want to make sure the little babies are as safe as possible, but I'm new to raising chickens, so I don't know everything I should watch out for.

you can set up a brooder inside the coop. add the heat lamp with some bedding, waterers, feeders, and a roosting bar. if you do not have a roosting bar, you could just use a wooden or plastic stick and place it on the ground, you could drill it to the wall of the coop. Hope this helps.

I am very interested in this as well. We just finished our coop which is 8x8x8 and we only have 6 hens right now. We would really like to order another dozen chicks but have limited area to actually have a brooder inside at all. I have been trying to find a way to build a brooder outside but still keep them protected (we live in a pretty isolated woody area) and warm. I can add another "level" inside of the coop off to one side, like a 3x8 shelf basically to use as a brooding area. Besides keeping them warm is their any other issues I need to be aware of- I know this would help solve our problem we have been...wait for it...brooding over. Thanks ahead for any advice.