Brooding Ducklings???

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by SamG347, Mar 2, 2009.

1. SamG347

SamG347 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2007
    PA
    Hey all....well I'm getting 6+ Muscovy eggs in the mail this week and I know I have 35 days to prepare for them. What is the best way to brood ducklings. As far as cutting down mess...and bettering the healthy of the ducks. I have 1 reg.wire cage that is pretty big and would work nicely....I have 1 coated wire cage that would be nice on their feet...but could also possibly be slippy. And could also just brood them on shavings.
    What do you think?
    [​IMG]

2. tamsflock

tamsflock Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 13, 2008
    Ashville, Alabama
    I am no expert these are the first calls I have hatched yesterday. I had mine on the coated wire and they were slipping. Moved them to a smaller cage with the shavings they are doing better on that. I have no clue if that is fine to do BUT I didn't want them to get spraddle leg because they couldn't get their footing.

3. SundownWaterfowl

SundownWaterfowl Overrun With Chickens

The first week or so, I keep my ducklings in a large cardboard box, with either straw or pine shavings. Make sure what ever you use, that the ducklings wont be able to slip, as that can lead to spraddle leg.

4. farmertank

farmertank Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2007
    Linden TN
    I use a cardboard box for muscovys intill they get their footing down well. Muscovys don't play in their water like other ducks, so they aren't as messy. I would then put them in a non-coated wire cage with shavings.

Julie

5. streemers

streemers Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 13, 2008
    port orchard,WA