Broody Golden Lace Polish

MusiGal

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 1, 2013
Chesapeake, VA
Hi, everyone! I haven't posted in a while,but I do much research on these boards all the time. I have a Golden Lace Polish that has gone broody. No doubt about it, she displays all the classic behaviors. However, we don't have a Rooster, so there will be no chicks. Is there any harm in letting her just go through her broody cycle or should I do my best to break it?

She's just over 14 months old, was a late bloomer when it came to laying, but has been a pretty steady layer. I discovered her last night laying in one of the nest boxes. I honestly thought something was wrong (I'm new to all this, still), so I was petting her and she let me. No noises or anything. This morning she was back to normal and came out with the rest of the flock. When I got home from work tonight, she was back in the box...still let me pet her with no noises or objections whatsoever. That's when the thought struck me that she might be broody. So I came to my trusty source, backyardchickens,com and she displayed none of the vocal signs. Someone suggested taking her off the nest, gathering the egg(s) and see if she runs right back on. So I went out and picked her up off the nest without so much as a peep from her and sure enough, she had one of her eggs underneath. I held her for a little while and seemed to like that, but then I needed to put her down, so I did and she ran outside with the other hens and I "freshened" up the nest boxes with more shavings. While I was doing that she ran back into the run where the coop is and ran to the food and ate a little. I brought the other hens in with some meal worms and she devoured those. They all went back out and I left to go towards the house..they all followed me, including her. Once we were all by the house away from the coop, I turned around and she's running back to the coop and sure enough jumped back into the nest box. I went to see how she was and this time,