Broody stopped sitting, HELP!

LingaB

Chirping
5 Years
Feb 24, 2014
Appling, GA
I have a speckled Sussex that was a first time broody, got her some eggs and she sat until day 10, then stopped. She only sits on them at night. She is currently in a 'maternity Ward' I built just for her so there aren't any chickens that bother her. It is now day 16, I candled and see movement in at least 3(there are 8 eggs). The others are maran eggs or EE eggs and it's really hard to see inside. The ones I can see inside of don't look like eggs on day 16. I do see veins though.

Questions are:
1. Can I save them?(I don't have an incubator), maybe I can build one?
2. If they are dead, would I still see veins or would a blood ring form?
3. Is it possible that growth was slowed and that is why they don't look like day 16?

It has been in the 80s during the day here in GA.

Thanks in advance, I'm new to this.

I think your best bet would be get or a make an incubator as soon as possible to save these eggs. If your hen was truly broody she would only come off the nest once maybe twice a day to eat drink and poop only. She would not sit only on a night.

If she has only been sitting on them on a night they are only getting half the incubation period that they require that is the most likely cause of them looking delayed in development and not as they should on day 16.

Hope this helps you and good luck with them :fl

She made her own nest and sat on it for about a week but her eggs weren't fertile. I got her fertile eggs, moved her to the maternity ward and she sat all the time( only getting up about once a day to eat and drink). Then on day 10, I saw her walking around the pen I have her in and she never sat back down until night time. Not sure what made her snap out of it. She is a first time broody so maybe that's why. :(