Bucket waterer..."Chicken Kooler"...opinions?

nikki1

Songster
8 Years
Oct 16, 2011
Eatonville, WA
Hi, All!

I'm new to chickens, but I have 5 sweeties in the brooder. I saw in a chicken magazine a product called The Chicken Kooler. It's basically a bucket with chicken nipples (I can't get over that term!) on the bottom, which you hang in your run. Chickies go underneath to drink.

Sounds like a simple, genius idea, but is it a quality product? If it is, I'll ask for one for my birthday. (I've never been a candles and roses kind of girl) If it's not, is there another simple to use/install/clean alternative.

I'd love to hear from people who have tried it!

--Nikki
(and my babies, Amelia, Dot, Nellie, Penny, and Betsy)

Last edited:
I've used chicken nipples with my chickens since they were chicks. Some people like them, some don't. I've had no issues with them and the water always stay clean. They can freeze and will still work after they are thawed. I just purchased the nipples and made my own.

You could take a plastic bucket and install the watering nipples and achieve the same end. My chickens, even the three week-old ones, use the nipples for drinking. The little ones aren't in the coop, yet. They have their own coke bottle with one nipple in it.

As far as making one yourself, Google YouTube for some good demonstration video on making one.

Chris

Nikki, head over to your local feed store and buy 3 nipples. They are like $1 each. They also probably already have plastic buckets to purchase like $5-7. For $10 you have an amazing water-er that should go for 10-15 days without needing to refill. It's a great way to help your mother cluckers stay healthy.