BYC Member Interview - LadiesAndJane

N F C

BYC Staff
Premium Feather Member
10 Years
Dec 12, 2013
KY
@LadiesAndJane

Come say hello to LadiesAndJane! She's been a member since May 2014 and comes to us from Hawaii.

1. Tell us a bit more about yourself. And is there a story behind your member name?

I am a medical professional, mom to a teenager and have always loved animals as far back as I can remember. I wanted to be a vet when I was a kid, but developed too many allergies.
My user name came about when I had a rooster named Jane (like many others have experienced, "he" was suppose to be a "she"). I would greet the chickens every day with "Good morning Ladies, oh and you too, Jane," which soon became "Good Morning, Ladies and Jane."

2. Why and when did you start keeping chickens?
We had chickens when I was a kid, though none had names and I was not really interested in them then, I was more a mammal girl back then.
My true appreciation for the birds came about as an adult, after my daughter's kindergarten class hatched chicks as part of a school project. She was enthralled by them. We thought it would be a good learning opportunity for her to raise the birds from chicks all the way to laying age. The class room chicks were all spoken for, so we bought 6 layer chicks from the local feed store. It was quite the experience, the feed store only received chicks for about 6 weeks out of the year, we had to get up early to stand in line outside the feed store on the day the chicks were available in order to get the breeds we wanted.
We didn't know back then you could order them yourself from the hatchery.
1662112853019.png

3. Which aspects of poultry keeping do you enjoy the most?
I really enjoy just hanging out with them and watching "Chicken TV". Their social dynamics are so fascinating. I could literally watch them for hours. My job can be very stressful and I find caring for and interacting with the chickens therapeutic.