California Quail Incubation HELP!

mdibb

Hatching
May 21, 2021
Hello! I have a batch of 12 California Quail. It is my first time hatching quail. I've monitored their development by checking them with a candler and everything seemed to be developing great (I stopped candling about a week ago in oder for them to prepare for the lockdown period). We are now on day 24 and I don't see any signs of pipping and I'm nervous to check them because I know how fragile this lockdown period is. Is there a way I can check to see if they are still alive without taking them out of the incubator? Is 24 days common for California quail? How much longer should I wait before I call it?

Personally, I'm hatching California quail and I try to not candle them unless I'm super excited. I don't know if taking them out and candling will reduce the hatch rate, but I still try to avoid it. You probably already have your answer and I'm sorry if they didn't hatch. It's always very disappointing when eggs don't hatch. If you want, tell us what your process was so we can figure out if there's something in your process that caused this to happen. What humidity were you running during incubation and then in lockdown?

One has actually hatched today! Day 26. It’s hopping around and looking healthy. I’m honestly shocked that it hatched this late!

During incubation I kept the humidity around 50 with the temperature at 99.5. During the lockdown I bumped it up to about 70 and left the temperature the same. Any tips you have for the future are more than welcome! As I said I’m a first timer!

I’ll let you know if more hatch.

One has actually hatched today! Day 26. It’s hopping around and looking healthy. I’m honestly shocked that it hatched this late!

During incubation I kept the humidity around 50 with the temperature at 99.5. During the lockdown I bumped it up to about 70 and left the temperature the same. Any tips you have for the future are more than welcome! As I said I’m a first timer!