Call Color Confusion

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by k0r1nag, Oct 7, 2011.

1. k0r1nag

k0r1nag Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2010
    Kelso
    I am new to call ducks and enjoying them mightily. I bought hatching eggs and had a banty cochin set them with great success - of the dozen eggs she successfully hatched 10 babies. The flock they came from was gray/blue fawn/pastel which I understand to be like Blue/Black/Splash genetically (thanks to some very helpful people here on BYC). But she also had butterscotch so I could have accidentally ended up with a few of those as well. I have been researching and researching the colors to try to figure out what I have as the little ones develop but I am still confused. I am pretty sure I have 4 pastel females and 2 pastel males (not pictured).

My question is these guys...do I have blue fawn males or grays? Or some of each? I think they are all blue fawn, but one is much darker and has the lovely metallic green/blue patch on his wing, so is he a Gray? They are finally coming into their adult breeding coloration and I hope to see some drake curls soon to help with the final ID [​IMG]

This is the one I think might be a gray:
    [​IMG]

Are these boys blue fawns? Or this first boy a poor butterscotch?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Fun to watch and learn about them as they grow.

Thanks for the input!

2. StevenW.

StevenW. Lovin' My Quackers!

Oct 7, 2010
    Central, Illinois
    1. Gray - Male

The 2nd and 3rd boys could very well be Blue Fawns or maybe even ButterScotches.

I'm not sure if I'm 100% correct, but I do know they are beautiful! [​IMG]

3. Senna95

Senna95 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2010
    Woodland
    Only the greys will have the irridescent green head and wing patch. Adding any blue dilution (either single or double dose) will turn the head grey, as well as the wing patch.

It's hard to tell the second 2 ducks...... wait till they color up some more, and post more pics.

4. dwhite