Can I keep courtinix and bobwhite quail together?

Little Red Birds

Songster
Jun 6, 2019
Hello, I am very new to quail and have only raised two courtinix so far. As of right now, I am looking into getting more courtinix and some bobwhite. Before I get bobwhites though, I would like to know if it would be safe to keep the two species together. I would be getting straight run juvenile snowflake bobwhites from a local-ish breeder (they live about an hour away) along with courtinix from another local breeder. I know that during the breeding season the bobwhites need to be paired off, but in the winter could they all be together? I will most likely be building them an aviary and the courtinix would be in there year round while the bobwhite only when it wasn’t breeding season. I am open to ANY information!! Thanks!

Hello, I am very new to quail and have only raised two courtinix so far. As of right now, I am looking into getting more courtinix and some bobwhite. Before I get bobwhites though, I would like to know if it would be safe to keep the two species together. I would be getting straight run juvenile snowflake bobwhites from a local-ish breeder (they live about an hour away) along with courtinix from another local breeder. I know that during the breeding season the bobwhites need to be paired off, but in the winter could they all be together? I will most likely be building them an aviary and the courtinix would be in there year round while the bobwhite only when it wasn’t breeding season. I am open to ANY information!! Thanks!

Nope, sorry. Gotta build two separate enclosures. Very different birds. People have anecdotally raised individuals together for a time but they will not play nice on a large scale.

(Hope this doesn't put you off both! They're lovely birds, hopefully you can find space).