Can I release my king quails into the wild

godowar337

Hatching
Nov 3, 2016
I live in southeast qld in Australia and am wondering if I can release the king quails into grassland in the area

I would contact your version of Game and Fish or the local wildlife dept. never hurts to make sure before the fact
wink.png

Howdy godowar337 and Welcome to BYC!

Are you talking about releasing king quail that you have been caring for into the grassland to fend for themselves?

I have no experience with quail so do not totally understand the question but wonder why you would want to? If they have been in your care would they not just be picked off by predators?

[Not a criticism or attack but genuine, out of interest questions]

I've had my king quails for a while now and I only have one cage so yeah over crowding will eventually happen. I plan to keep the original breeding pair. I let them be as close to nature as possible with free ranged conditions and I do cut up earth worms for them. What predators eat quails in Australia.would they survive.

Last edited:
Howdy godowar337 and Welcome to BYC!

Are you talking about releasing king quail that you have been caring for into the grassland to fend for themselves?

I have no experience with quail so do not totally understand the question but wonder why you would want to?  If they have been in your care would they not just be picked off by predators?

[Not a criticism or attack but genuine, out of interest questions]

Sorry I'm new to this site. I don't really know how to reply properly. I hope this answers your questions. I don't plan on releasing my original breeding pair.

Hey godowar337

You replied just fine.

As I said, definitely not a quail expert here, never even touched one but have seen pictures and a couple of little ones at the feed store lol
wink.png