can I use newspaper?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by dntd, Dec 7, 2009.

1. dntd

dntd Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 4, 2009
    I'm just starting out with chickens and want to know if anyone uses newspaper shreds instead of pine shavings? Newspaper/other paper is cheap, we do plan on cleaning weekly even twice a week if needed. Right now I do every other day as they are in the basement. Can it be used in the winter?

2. chickeydee

chickeydee Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2009
    I use all purpose sand and a little DE mixed in it . It works great and if you use a shifter you can recycle it ,but paper I do not know I would think the ink from them would be harmful . Smoeone on here might be more informed on it . .I can say that the sand has worked great for me .I did not care for shaving and 6.00 a bag or more and I would have to buy 4 for one 5x8 coopcompare to 2 bags of sand and recycke it .The poop goes into a compost pile .

3. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    Most newspaper ink is now soy based. I am trying to find a way to shred it and use it easily since I have access to a bunch of newspaper.

4. chickeydee

Jul 9, 2009
    If you have access to the free papers and I say try it .We have thoese free papers called Thrifty Nickle, but I am concern abou the problems it would cause to the birds if they eat it or the ink gets on them .

5. dntd

dntd Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 4, 2009
    I bought a paper shredder for $20 althogh it only does 5 sheets of paper at a time. You could get a more expensive one but I just wanted to trial it. We have other pets that could use paper shreds if the chickens couldn't.

6. Joz

Joz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2009
    MidCity, New Orleans
    Newspapers (don't know about thrifty nickels or other small papers) are required to use soy-based inks since so many people use them as bedding in pet cages.

7. chickeydee

Jul 9, 2009