CANABALISM: feeding chickens eggshells

MiChickMagnet

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jan 6, 2014
Traverse City, MI
So I am brand new to this whole chicken raising thing, so excuse me if I sound crazy for asking. Is it really a good idea to be feeding chickens egg shells, or worse yet IMO scrambled eggs?

I have read that you want to break the shell down into small pieces so that it is unrecognizable, but still, is this healthy for the chicken? And what about feeding them scrambled eggs?

A vegan friend of mine recently made the comparison that eating eggs at all is basically eating a chickens period. I will still happily eat eggs and chicken despite that thought, but is it good for the chickens themselves to eat the eggs?

Does anyone have anything besides anecdotal evidence that this is a healthy practice?

The shell of the egg is made of Calcium Carbonate. A mineral that is found not only in animals, plants, etc. but also rocks and soil. The source of it shows little difference on its source affecting its use in the body. What affects it more is too little or overdosing of minerals and human error.

The technicals out of the way, chemically, the eggshells are exactly as good of a source as supplemented calcium. Some people prefer to bake the shells to destroy any bacteria from mishandling or older shells. Some feed them raw. Hens will happily eat their own eggs as a natural behavior, not a vice, to eliminate inferior eggs or dead in shell chicks. Chickens will seek out these sources and may eat hatched egg shells.

So they naturally will pick at the shells on occasion. The breeding of the domestic hen demands more calcium than her wild relative because she lays significantly more eggs. As a result there is far more eating of their own eggs than other wild poultry. This is part of why we supply them with calcium, shells or otherwise.