ceramic heat emitter (indoor or summer brooding)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Mel281, May 23, 2019.

1. Mel281

Mel281 Songster

Mar 8, 2014
    Minneapolis-ish, MN
    Are these a good idea as long as the ambient temp isn't too low? I'm trying to make a mama heating pad, but so far it's not the best and chicks are coming today. I am not a newbie, but it's been a few years and I've only done red 250 W bulbs in the past. Well, now I can't find my regular brooder clamp lamp so I've got to either buy another one and make a stand for it or find another solution.

2. DobieLover

DobieLover Easily distracted by chickens

Jul 23, 2018
    Apalachin, NY
    My Coop
    Why do you think your MHP isn't the best? They are usually vastly superior to a heat lamp in more ways than one.

Willowspirit likes this.
  3. Mel281

Mel281 Songster

Mar 8, 2014
    Minneapolis-ish, MN
    I'm worried about getting it right. Too high, too low, not enough coverage from the heating pad (should it hang over), is it sloped right, not strong enough so it'll get squished when the go on top
    I have 5 chicks, it's the small or standard size heating pad.

EggSighted4Life likes this.
  4. EggSighted4Life

EggSighted4Life Free Ranging

I use them... they last longer than standard bulbs. And while my birds all gripe short term when the regular light goes off... they all sleep through the night making both me and them happier.

MHP... wasn't my thing and didn't work out with my need to know personality. Plus I wrapped it with standard plastic wrap instead of the press kind and woke up to find most my babes inside a plastic bubble no doubt about to suffocate. :hmm I might eventually get a brooder plate but for now.. it's ceramic heat emitters all the way. They come in different wattages 75, 100, and 150 when my hubby was picking one up for my turkeys the other day.

Good luck with your new arrivals! :wee

Mel281 likes this.