Chicken coop directly over compost bin?

GreenThumb19

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jan 29, 2013
This summer I want to build a chicken coop suspended (on legs) directly over a compost pile. I was thinking of making the floor chicken wire or something, so there droppings will fall directly underneath, which will be the compost pile (which I'm also starting this year). This is my first time having chickens and my mom is only letting me have two. I live in Ontario and we have VERY cold winters so I will be bringing them to my uncle's larger scale coop in quebec during the winter, as he is much better equipped than I am haha. I was wondering if you guys saw any faults in this or if any of you have done it before?? I am open to any tips and tricks on owning chickens and any advice you could possibly have for me. In the future I would LIKE to keep them in the winter and have more then two but that is the current status soo it is what it is. Also this is my first post on here so bare with me hah.
Thank you so much in advance I really appreciate any help!
smile.png

-Pascal

I'm not a fan of wire bottoms in coops. It's done quite often and used a lot in conjunction with a drawer under to collect everything. So you can pull out the drawer and dump in compost. It seems what your thinking would work just fine as long as you can still access the compost to turn it and shovel it out. I'm assuming the run will be to side of compost bin and coop.

Why I'm not a fan of wire bottoms is I keep chickens year round. I use pine shavings as the liter, which composts well, and serves as a dry floor in winter. You may end up keeping the chickens all winter so may want to go with a deep liter coop from the start. There is no need to add heat to your coop but you'll want a heated water dispenser or heated dog bowl for winter if you keep them. The water and food can stay in the run. Chickens only use coop to sleep and go to nesting boxes to lay eggs.