Chicken lifting legs high when walking

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Newtochickens2, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Newtochickens2

Newtochickens2 New Egg

Oct 25, 2012
    Hello, I'm fairly new to owning chickens so wondered if someone could give me some advice. I have a Plymouth rock bantam which looks like she has started moulting, but feathers appear to be growing back, the last two days I have noticed she lifts her legs high when she walks looks as though her legs are moving her chest? Her poo is normal, she is eating and srinking. Any ideas what I should do? Thanks

2. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy

As for the walking, check the bottom of her feet, I don't know what to do about her shrinking.

3. janinepeters

janinepeters Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2009
    No experience with it myself, but have readt it can be due to mites. That might not be the only possible cause, but it would be worth giving your bird a look over. Google "high stepping" chicken and you should find some threads on that.

4. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member Project Manager

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    X2! I'd be willing to bet it's scaly leg mites.

5. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member Project Manager

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    Dust her with poultry dust, not DE. You should probably also worm her, but if she's started to moult, you should not use fenbendazole (Safeguard/Panacur) as it does something to their feathers.

Weigh her and send BYC's dawg53 a PM and ask him how to worm her. I'm pretty sure he'll suggest that you buy Valbazen (albendazole), but I have no idea how much you should give to a thin banty. You'll have to order Valbazen online, but you can get Safeguard, Wazine (roundworms only) and Poultry Dust at TSC (Tractor Supply).