Chicken Math & Breeds- Help a newbie please!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by margali, Mar 10, 2012.

1. margali

margali Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2011
    I am trying to figure out how many chicks to get and what losses I should be ready for. This is my first time raising chicks. The rooster and hen I have now were raised and left by my renters. I'm in town and had to get a permit. It is for 6-8 chickens. It took me weeks to get it done so I'm not looking to get it changed.

With that said I am also building a new coop. I think 5 hens will give me about 3 egss a day which is what I want. So should I get 4 pullets and assume they will all make it? I have a co-worker I could split a Farm & Home batch with. Or should I get six pullets? I don't think I will have room for 8 chickens once they are all grown.

The barred rocks and buff orphingtons seem to be considered good breeds. The local Farm & Home orders from Crackle hatchery. Are they good? Will barred rocks and buff orphingtons do okay in SE Iowa?

Thanks,
    Margali

2. cooped up

cooped up Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 6, 2012
    Portland, Or
    Hi there-- my experience has been good. I've never lost a chick that I bought from a local feed store.Those birds mentioned are pretty compatible and are fairly good layers. I have both in my flock, but looking back I would only have bought the Plymouth Rocks { not as broody}. I'm switching my flock to Black Austalorps now.

Plan on building your coop with at least 4 sq. ft./bird---there are tons of great ideas at this website and plenty of things to research. Also consider a run attached 8sq.ft/bird.

3. margali

margali Out Of The Brooder

Nov 13, 2011