Chickens Eating Eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Jim41, Dec 16, 2009.

1. Jim41

Jim41 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 23, 2009
    My RIRs are eatting a lot of eggs. What should i do ? Seems like a waste of money to feed them if im not getting eggs. Have 15 chikns and if i get lucky and get to the eggs before they do i get 4or5 a day some days 0. they have food scratch o shell and fresh water why do they eat eggs?[​IMG]

2. emvickrey

emvickrey ChowDown Silkie Farm

Mar 5, 2009
    Hornbeak, Tennessee
    I'm no pro on the matter but I'm guessing they need protein. They should be getting layer crumbles also. I mix scratch grains with layer crumbles and I also have a large tray of oyster shell for them to eat as they wish. And several times a week I give treats such as canned fish, oats (the kind you would make oatmeal out of), bread, vegetable scraps as long as there is no butter or grease used to cook them. We also go to our local convience store and buy the remaining food left at the end of the day and feed the hamburgers and some of the other stuff that isn't deep fried. Yes, chickens can eat cooked chicken. Meat is protein. I also will cook extra scrambled eggs so there is enough to share with my chickens. I wash the shells, let dry then crush in my Ultimate chopper and add that to their food also. It makes more of a powder out of the shells. Provides calcium. They get apples and grapes, cantelope, pumpkin. Pretty much any fruits and vegetables but no citrus.

So to sum it up, I feed them pretty much anything except for greasy foods and citrus. I don't drain the water off the canned fish when I mix oats with it. I drain it when I don't. And I always add grit to all people foods I mix up for them or toss a handful in their food dish.

They also are let out very often to free range.