Chickens in Charlotte, NC

quetzala

Hatching
9 Years
Apr 25, 2010
Hello, all.
I am new to BYC and chickens in general. My husband and I have taken in 4 chicks from a friend who moved and could not bring her new chicks along. We live in the Plaza Midwood area of CLT, and we need help! I don't even know if it is legal to keep them in this area. We have no HOA, but the city mandates they be at least 20 feet from any building. Our property is 200x50 ft. Does the coop need to be smack in the middle of the back yard? Also, if we can't legaly have them, any tips on not getting found out? They are way too cute to turn in to Animal Control! We have them in a plastic dog kennel with a heat lamp, feeder, and waterer right now, but I expect them to get big fast. My husband is in love with them, and has named them Susanna 1, 2, 3 and 4. My friend said they are "black sexlink" chicks, but I can't find this breed on this site. Is that another name for just a black chicken?
Thanks for any info and tips!

Jenny in Charlotte.

Go to any of the hatchery websites (McMurray, Cackle, etc) and read about black sex links. It just means the checks can be sexed at hatching because the males and females are different colors.

They are nice birds---I have a few of them. Very reliable layers and friendly and calm. You'll enjoy them.

PS They do make a lot of noise. One of my black sex links is such a blabbermouth. She talks loudly and constantly when I am out there.

Good luck with your new flock!!

D.gif
D.gif
D.gif

if for some reason you have a problem, we can give them a good home. I live just outside of denver, nc (that isn't far from huntersville/cornileus). not sure what part of charlotte plaza midwood is (although I have heard of it). if anything you can give your neighbors free eggs eventually lol

Hi Jenny,