Chickens not going in their coop

Millerhomemaker

Hatching
Jan 19, 2017
I am new to BYC.. I currently have 4 chickens 2 barred rocks and 2 astolorps all pullets (12 weeks old). I built a 32X41 coop that is 3 feet tall and 30 inches off the ground. The chicks will come out and go in on their own sometimes. Their coop and run provides them with around 20 sqft of space. Every night I have to put them in the coop. I am super perplexed. If I don't put them in they with huddle together in their sand box.
Any advice would be appreciated.
thanks
David Miller

Last edited:
I am new to BYC.. I currently have 4 chickens 2 barred rocks and 2 astolorps all pullets (12 weeks old). I built a 32X41 coop that is 3 feet tall and 30 inches off the ground. The chicks will come out and go in on their own sometimes. Their coop and run provides them with around 20 sqft of space. Every night I have to put them in the coop. I am super perplexed. If I don't put them in they with huddle together in their sand box.
Any advice would be appreciated.
thanks
David Miller

They are young birds and won't know how to roost until you show them where and how. Do you have roosts in your coop?

On a side note: The measurements you describe will not be big enough to house those chickens when they are full grown and is barely big enough for their living now, so you may consider constructing something more suitable to the size and life of the animal you are trying to house.

There are roosts inside that I made from a maple tree we had to cut down. I have seen them on the roost a few times. Not often, they seem to like the nesting box and sleep in it. I have the built the coop with the ability to expand it. How much bigger do you think it needs to be. I let them free range 3-5 hours everyday. The area i described is what I have covered with hardware cloth.
thanks for your advise