Chickens seem to be scared of their new drinker

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Chuckie, Nov 5, 2013.

1. Chuckie

Chuckie New Egg

Nov 5, 2013
    UK
    Hi [​IMG]

Apologies if this is a question already asked, but I have searched & not found the answer

I am new to chicken keeping; about 8 weeks ago I acquired 4 pullets aged 18 weeks.

We are all getting along blissfully, but I have just changed their small (slightly slimy) plastic drinker for a larger galvanized one and they seem to be terrified of it. last night 1 of my hens refused point blank to walk past it to go into the coop. It was about 4 hours after sunset when I gave in and lifted her to the coop.

Is this normal?? Any tips for calming them down and accepting it into their lives? [​IMG]

Thanks!

2. write2caroline

write2caroline Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2009
    Jacksonville
    You could paint it red? Or cover it with paper - Make a modge podge project out of it. I have seen chickens drink out of all kinds of things including dirty puddles when clean water was also offered. I would offer them the old waterers along with the new one for now. You don't want to lose chickens from dehydration. I wonder if the galvanized waterer is altering the taste of the water through some kind of reaction.

I hope that helps
    Caroline

1 person likes this.
  3. Chuckie

Chuckie New Egg

Nov 5, 2013
    UK
    Thanks Caroline

It will be turning red this evening! :)

I did give it a good rince before use, but only with water. Is there anything else I should have washed it with?

Emma

4. chickenboy190

chickenboy190 Overrun With Chickens

May 31, 2013
    Ohio
    Welcome!Glad you joined BYC! :~D

5. IridescentPals

IridescentPals Out Of The Brooder

Nov 4, 2013
    Oregon
    Hello,