Chickens scared of new waterer…help!

jda2581

In the Brooder
Dec 9, 2023
Hello! I’m new to the backyard chicken scene. I just got a new waterer that is heated for winter, and my chickens are scared of it! I’ve tried putting meal worms around it and they will get so close and run away. It’s been just over a week. Does anyone have any tips or tricks to help me out?

Can you share a pic of the waterer? What do they normally drink from?
The red one is the new heated one, and the blue one is the normal one. I made sure to put the new one in the same place and the feeder hasn’t changed but they won’t eat because it’s too close to the waterer. I added a picture of how it was before I changed the waterer for winter.

Attachments

• E484C6C0-7F78-4E05-9903-DB887A33353C.jpeg
    E484C6C0-7F78-4E05-9903-DB887A33353C.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 13
  • 12D046BF-2FF8-4939-BB97-F30BF354E1A7.jpeg
    12D046BF-2FF8-4939-BB97-F30BF354E1A7.jpeg
    10.9 KB · Views: 14
  • 01F5AAE3-76BD-4AC5-9CD2-C6BDC0AD38B8.jpeg
    01F5AAE3-76BD-4AC5-9CD2-C6BDC0AD38B8.jpeg
    252.3 KB · Views: 12
That is so weird. How old are your chickens? Are they normally this nervous? You might have to manually dip their beaks so they know it's water, but wait for someone else to chime in. I don't want to traumatize them.

My chickens will be apprehensive about new things, but that normally wears off in a couple hours. For them to be avoiding food and water for a week seems excessive.

One idea is to remove the water from the waterer, dry it out, then put their food in the reservoir. THAT is their only food for the day, and lock them in with it until they eat. Obviously provide their usual water on the side. Hopefully that will knock them out of it, then you can convert it back as their waterer.