Chickenwire = Danger

Buff Hooligans

Scrambled
12 Years
Jun 11, 2007
Could some of the online experts address why chickenwire is called chickenwire when it is responsible for so many chicken deaths and broken hearts?

For those who are planning their coops and runs, don't use chickenwire - it is too "open" and bendable by predators, too easily breached by anything with muscles and claws - use hardware cloth if you want to keep your babies safe.

I'm not an expert, but I'm going to repeat something I was recently told by a guy who makes the www.coops4you.com tractor, then draw a conclusion.

His assertion is that the imported wire that is available today is garbage, and that it used to be better.

I think the conclusion is that as with many products, the quality of what used to be a useful product has declined, so much so that it is no longer useful for the original purpose.

We have to demand better products. And we have to start manufacturing our materials in the US instead of importing all this cheap crap from China.

chicken wire is to keep chickens in--not predators out. Chicken wire use to be about 2X thicker in diameter than it is now.

I saw what happened when someone tried to keep 2 roosters separated by poultry netting (chicken wire). The australorp ripped through it (broke the wire!) and beat the other rooster up pretty badly. I couldn't believe it.

Hi Nugget,

I tried to reach you by e-mail.

I'm building a 10x12 shed that will be 1/2 coop and 1/2 potting shed. I was hoping I might learn a bit more about how you folks built your swoopy roof, and any problems you encountered/solved.

Any chance you could fill us in on those sorts of details?

Thanks!

Quote:
I'm not trying to be funny or sarcastic or anything... but what else would you call it?

Trying to be funny and sarcastic...expletive! expletive! expletive!