Chicks from the same hatch growing at different rates

HattieScratchy

Chirping
Oct 14, 2017
PNW
I know typically this would be an indication of the larger being a cockerel. But these are welsummers and the males typically don't have the eyeliner or V markings on there heads. These chicks are also sexed from a hatchery (i know it's still not 100%accurate).. their feathering seems to be coming in the same, but one just seems to be a lot bigger than the other. They are 2 weeks. Any insite? One is just a slow grower?

Only had chickens for a year so im still learning!!
20180215_200703.jpg
20180215_200638.jpg

Since you got them from a hatchery (and thus feed store?) it can represent different lines rather than gender.

It may also represent slightly different hatch dates.

It also could be one is getting more nutrition than the other.

Welsummers are easy to sex once the feathers come in. A salmon chest will be female while black feathers coming in at the chest will be male.

Eyeliner works well in closely maintained lines, which hatchery lines usually aren't, so you can get some surprises. Vent sexing (the normal method at hatcheries) is typically 90% accurate.

Watch and wait. Observe the smaller one to make sure it isn't being forced away from the food dish by the larger one. Also check it over to be sure it seems healthy in every way.

Slow growth can be an indicator of lurking illness as well.

LofMc

Since you got them from a hatchery (and thus feed store?) it can represent different lines rather than gender.

It may also represent slightly different hatch dates.

It also could be one is getting more nutrition than the other.

Welsummers are easy to sex once the feathers come in. A salmon chest will be female while black feathers coming in at the chest will be male.

Eyeliner works well in closely maintained lines, which hatchery lines usually aren't, so you can get some surprises. Vent sexing (the normal method at hatcheries) is typically 90% accurate.