Choosing a Career

Perry17

Songster
Sep 17, 2017
So I am at that fun age in life where the decisions I make now, will effect me forever...no pressure lol. So this is going to be a long one, call it my life story haha. I just really need some advice.

I graduated highschool in 2016 with my CNA, and plans to go into nursing- sounded great at the time, would be able to make a good living and have time and money to have my farm, and loved bio and anatomy.

I went to my dream school (happened to be an ag school that had nursing, so best of both worlds). I went there for my first year and loved the school, loved the classes and people. But the thought of clinicals aproaching (what would have been this fall 2017) scared me into changing my mind.

So in fear that I might get into the nursing program, spend all that money, then drop it in a month because I might hate it...instead I moved back home after the spring semester of my first year. I planned to pick up a few classes from the tech school back home, and get phlebotomy certified. If I liked the phlebotomy enough that I wanted to further the med field, I would work as a phlebotomist until the next fall 2018 and finish my second year of Nursing and graduate spring 2019 with my ASN, then a one year fast track to BSN.

One thing led to the next, and my wonderful advisors messed up my class registration two semesters in a row. So I couldn't be signed up for phlebotomy fall 2017 as planned, then this semester they did the same thing and I can't be enrolled for the spring 2018 program either. I have all my prereqs already, just needed the one clinical class that is already filled.

Thing is, even without taking the phlebotomy, this semester off with me working and volunteering made me realize nursing just isn't for me. The question is, where do I go from here? I thought if all else fails and I don't like nursing, at least I will have my phlebotomy cert until I figure out what to do next. But now I don't even have that.