Code Enforcement at my front door!

Leisa

Hatching
10 Years
Apr 23, 2009
I am brand new to chickens. We live in Eustis, Florida 30 minutes north of Orlando, and I thought I had done my homework about zoning. However after spending the last five days building a beautiful coop to complement our home and not be a nusiance to the neighbors, I was met with a complaint of building a non permitted structure.

The code enforcement man was very nice, and said the structure was not illegal or against code, and he would just "not mention it housed chickens". He had an anonymous complaint about building going on. We are county, but zoned R-2. County allows chickens but R-2 does not. We are not in the city and on 1/4 acre lots.

My question is what now?

If I try and fight it will be obvious we have chickens, but if I don't I will worry that they could be taken away at any time. I have 5 hens. 2- Easter eggers, and 3 barred rocks. The coop is 4x6 and the run 10x6.

My blog has pictures of our new coop
29044_camp_allegro_and_ckn_coop_100.jpg

I am just sick, and so will my hubby when I tell him he spent the last five days for naught.

Thanks
Leisa
http://thebeecharmers.blogspot.com/2009/04/our-new-coop.html

Last edited:
So what did the CE fellow say? Did he say you have to move/remove it, or will you just have to pay the building/permit fee retroactively? It may not mean that you automatically have to get rid of your girls...

That stinks. Some people have nothing better to do with their time. That is why I cant stand "most" people. I have no advice. Our laws here are different. We can build a stucture up to a certain amount of feet, I want to say 8x10. ANd as long as it is on blocks its not considered a permanent structure and therefore no permits were needed.
I hope someone who knows how to help can chime in.
And WELCOME TO BYC!!!

I'm so sorry you're having to deal with this issue, especially now that you have everything in place already
hugs.gif