Complete newbie to chicks and have many questions...

Shellyb

Songster
10 Years
Apr 25, 2009
So, after many fly by conversations, my hubby and I stopped in at tsc and saw the chicks again. Our daughter was in love and I was too. Hubby said to go home and do some research and I did. I had read up on stuff and thought I wanted rhode island reds. well my hubby went there one day while i was in another state but tells me they had them there. well, i went the next day and they were all gone. They man there at tsc said he had raised chicks for 30+ years so i trusted what he said ended up leaving with 3 red sexlings(rir x with delaware) and 3 amberlinks. So my questions start there.
1. Did i pick good egg laying, docile chickens?
2. What's an ideal size coop for 6 chicks?
3. What should be doing or not be doing to help them be tame with us?
4. When should I introduce other treats other then the starter food.
5. Should we use house wrap on the coop to protect it?
6. Is it really necessary to use pressure treated wood?
7. What is the best level to have the nesting boxes at in the coop?
8. Is there another name for Amber links? can't seem to find much info. on either kind I bought.

I think of all kinds of questions all throughout the day but right now I have preggo brain and can't remember much of them. They will come to me later I'm sure. Thanks in advance, Shelly

I can't really answer your ?'s cause I'm sorta a newbie too. But do know your sexlinks are excellent layers. I'd say the amber links are also sexlinks. Different hatcheries call them different things from what I'm learning.

Good luck and you will have a ton of fun with your babies and fresh eggs some day.

going to try to answer a few questions.
depending on where you live. I am in Canada and I have had chickens for quite a few years and this is what I had for 10 chickens.