Coop Location Options

May 8, 2018
West Virginia
Hello everyone!

I am new to all of this, having only recently gotten started raising chicks. My daughter and myself have two barred plymouth rocks, two austrolorps, a leghorn, and a sapphire gem.

I have a Precision Walk-in Annex coop to get us going. With the soft wood found in these inexpensive commercial coops, I am under no illusion about the durability of this structure. I plan to place it on a large pad under the deck on the back of the house, which faces east. The advantages of this placement, allow me to place the coop directly on large an existing concrete pad, making for a simpler ground setup. We are on a half acre lot, which will afford some options down the road.

As I think about the coop v2 down the road, the placement is the biggest question. I could create a pad and place the coop optimally to the south. I could alternatively place the future more permanent coop on the pad right next the house. There would be less sun, but the groundwork necessary for the setup would be the simplest, and running electric to the coop would be a snap.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated!

Depending on where you're located, you might want to place the coop where there's less sun, as chickens don't do well in heat. Also make sure the spot has no drainage issues (flooded coops/runs are no good!) and close enough to a source of electricity if colder winters are the norm for you, as you'll either want to heat the waterer or be able to run warmed water out to the chickens.