Cornish Cross 4 weeks can't stand, watery poo, not eating...

Butterflychicks

In the Brooder
9 Years
May 11, 2010
This is my first time with chickens and I have Cornish Cross chicks.

They started in one barn under a heat lamp and starter crumble, then at three weeks I moved them to another barn, with an outdoor area for when they are ready. I also changed their food to a mash. Both foods have been medicated. They still have the heat lamp and plenty of space to move if they get too warm.

I lost one chick in week one, which I kind of expected. I felt quite happy to only loose one. It couldn't walk very well and had heavy breathing.

Now that they are in the new barn, with more space to move I noticed that one of them was not moving. I came back later in the day and noticed that another had also stopped getting up when I came in. All the other birds are quite active and even run at my feet when I walk in. They are on a bedding of shavings and they all seem quite happy and healthy, except these two?

I have separated these two birds from the rest of the flock as they were being walked all over. One is still eating and drinking and today his poop seems to be back to normal, but still can't stand. I am restricting his food intake and am having to give him water via a dripper.

The first one is now eating very, very little, yesterday he was not eating at all and I am having to feed them both water. His poop was pastey but now is very watery and white. His breathing seems normal.

I am wondering if there is anything I can do for these birds, is there any type of medication I can give them to get their strength back and their legs to work properly? Or is it best to end it for them. Although they are meat birds with a short life, I would hate to kill them for no reason and have to throw them away.

Also, over the course of today, the worse of the two has started to cry if I move him, but does seem to have a little more life in him than yesterday.